Return to Headlines

School Board Holds 2019 Organizational Meeting

Each January by state statute, the Columbia Heights School Board holds an organizational meeting to swear-in newly-elected members, elect officers and conduct other official business. Included in the list of annual requirements is electing officers for the calendar year.

Acting Chair John Larkin administered the Oath of Office to Hala Asamarai, Molly Lewis and Laura Palmer – all incumbents reelected this past November.

The School Board elected John Larkin as the Board Chair for the fourth consecutive year. Naty Severson was elected to continue serving as the Board’s Vice Chair. Laura Palmer was elected clerk, replacing Hala Asamarai who will continue as Director. Lorien Mueller will continue to serve as the Board’s Treasurer. Molly Lewis will keep her position as Director.  

Regular Business Meetings will be held 7 p.m. the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month, with the exception of March in which no meeting would be scheduled during spring break and December in which the meeting will be held Dec. 17, 2019. There will be no meetings in July. There will be the option of adding a work session the third Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m. and that no new business shall be taken up by the School Board after 10:45 p.m. except by unanimous consent of the Board members. All School Board meetings will be held in the District Center Community Room,1440 49th Avenue NE, Columbia Heights unless otherwise noted. 

Read more about the 2019 Organization Meeting in the Jan. 8, 2019 School Board Report.