Meet the Superintendent

  • Zena Stenvik Dear CHPS Community,

    Welcome to the 2022-2023 school year! Columbia Heights Public Schools has so much to offer! We have great programs for infants, toddlers, children, teens, parents/guardians, and adults. We offer award-winning clubs and athletics. We have educational opportunities before school, during the school day, after school, in the evening and during the summer months. Our comprehensive educational programs include engineering, music and band, robotics, fitness, agriculture, world language, visual and performing arts, business, woodworking, multimedia production, and much more. Our mission is “creating worlds of opportunities for each and every learner; all belong, all succeed” and our wide range of programs ensure that we are truly serving all of our diverse students.

    Columbia Heights Public Schools is nestled within an incredible community that encompasses Columbia Heights, Hilltop and Southern Fridley. We are grateful for strong community support. 

    Collectively, our community partners, local businesses, local government agencies, faith-based organizations, parents and caregivers provide opportunities to our students that foster students’ success. 

    Each week, when I visit classrooms, I am truly impressed with our students’ creativity, curiosity and critical thinking skills. CHPS has the best staff who promote the academic growth and wellbeing of our students. CHPS understands the importance of supporting the whole child through high-quality academics, social-emotional support, family engagement and strengthening our community partnerships. Our staff create a compassionate and collaborative learning environment in which children thrive and connect with their peers. We are confident this will be a great school year.

    Hylanders Have Heart!


    Zena Stenvik


    Stephanie Alvarez
    Executive Assistant to the Superintendent

Above & Beyond Award Recipients



    2021 | Jake Henderson


    2020 | Emergency Child Care and Food Service Staff


    2019 | Dale Marko


    2018 | Shari Alexon

    Kristen Stuenkel

    2017 | Kristen Stuenkel

    Keith Roberts

    2016 | Keith Roberts

    Jill Jungers

    2015 | Jill Jungers

    Matt Townsend

    2014 | Matt Townsend


    2013 | CH Police Department

    Janelle Niznik

    2012 | Janelle Niznik

    Diane Scully

    2011 | Diane Scully

    Betty Thomas

    2010 | Betty Thomas

    Bill Streff

    2009 | Bill Streff

    Jeannie Pullen

    2008 | Jeannie Pullen

    Tim Ahrndt

    2007 | Tim Ahrndt