• School Board Report

    Jan. 3, 2017 Special Called Organizational Meeting

    New School Board Members Swearing In of Newly Elected School Board Members 

    John Larkin, Naty Severson and Lorien Mueller were elected to the School Board Nov. 8, 2016. The three were sworn into office at this meeting by Vice Chair Laura Palmer. Ms. Severson was sworn-in via a video conference link. Directors Larkin, Severson and Mueller will serve four-year terms. Learn more about each by reading their online biographies or by reading our news release

    Organization of the School Board 

    Election of Chair

    Naty Severson nominated John Larkin. The School Board, by unanimous consent, voted John Larkin as Chair.

    Election of Vice Chair

    Molly Lewis nominated Laura Palmer. The School Board, by unanimous consent, voted Laura Palmer as Vice Chair.

    Election of Clerk

    Molly Lewis nominated Naty Severson. The School Board, by unanimous consent, voted Naty Severson as Clerk.

    Election of Treasurer

    Hala Asamarai self-nominated. The School Board, by unanimous consent, voted Hala Asamarai as Treasurer.                                                                     

    Appointment of Parliamentarian/Adoption of Robert's Rules of Order

    The School Board approved Robert's Rules of Order Newly Revised, except where modified by School Board policy, as the official rules. Chair Larkin appointed Molly Lewis as Parliamentarian.

    Meeting Dates and Times

    The School Board approved Regular Meetings on the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month at 7 p.m., with the exception of March in which the regular meeting will be March 28 (no meeting March 14 due to Spring Break), and December, in which the meeting will be Dec. 12. There are no meetings in July. The School Board agreed that there will be the option of adding a work session the third Tuesday of the month at 5:30 p.m. and that no new business shall be taken up by the School Board after 10:45 p.m. except by unanimous consent of the Board members;. School Board meetings are held in the District Community Room. 

    Appointment of Board Representatives

     The School Board voted and approved the appointment, effective immediately, of the following members to the applicable standing committees:

    Appointment of Board Building Liaisons

    The School Board approved the appointment of the following members as liaisons for school assignments for the period July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018:

      • Chair Larkin: North Park Elementary School 
      • Vice Chair Palmer: Family Center
      • Treasurer Asamarai: Highland Elementary School       
      • Clerk Severson: Columbia Heights High School                 
      • Director Lewis: Columbia Academy                 
      • Director Mueller: Valley View Elementary School

    Salaries and Per Diem for Board Members and Board Officers

    The School Board approved member and officer salaries and Per Diem payments for 2017 with no increase.

    Designation of Depositories

    The School Board approved, through resolution, the following institutions as depositories for Columbia Heights Public Schools:

      • LaSalle National Bank
      • US Bank 
      • Northeast Bank
      • Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus
      • Wells Fargo

    The School Board also voted that investment brokers Morgan Stanley and PMA Financial Network are authorized and directed to honor orders, when signed by the Treasurer and the Clerk, for the withdrawal or transfer of funds on deposit as instructed.

    Designation of Electronic Transfer Designees

    The School Board approved Director of Finance and Operations Bill Holmgren and Manager of Accounting Services Mark Patterson to manage electronic transfers.

    Designation of Legal Counsel and Contacts

    The School Board appointed the following individuals as legal counsels for Columbia Heights Public Schools:

      • Karen Kepple, Northeast Metro 916
      • Laura Tubbs Booth, Booth & Lavorato LLC
      • Joseph Langel, Ratwik, Roszak, and Moloney, P.A. 
      • Thomas Deans, Knutson Flynn & Deans P.A

    Designation of Election Clerk

    The School Board approved the reappointment of Dawn Hoium as the School District's Election Clerk. 

    Designation of Official Newspaper

    The School Board approved the Sun Focus as the official newspaper for the school district. The Sun Focus serves the communities of Columbia Heights, Fridley, Hilltop, Mounds View, New Brighton and St. Anthony. The Sun Focus met the legal requirements set forth in Minnesota Statute 331A.04. 

    Upcoming Key Dates

    7 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 10, School Board Regular Board Meeting, Community Room
    Monday, Jan. 16, No school
    Tuesday, Jan. 17, No school
    5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 17, School Board Listening Session, Family Center
    5:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 17, School Board Work Session
    7 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 24, School Board Regular Board Meeting, Community Room
    Friday, Jan. 27, No school 

    For more information on the School Board Report, call or email Communications Director Casey Mahon at 763-528-4503 or mahonc@colheights.k12.mn.us

    Mission Statement