School Board Report
  • Jan. 7, 2020 School Board Organizational Meeting

    Mission Statement

    Creating worlds of opportunity for each and every learner "All Belong, All Succeed"

    CORE VALUES: Community, Excellence, Collaboration, Integrity, Respect, Courage, Innovation.

    Organization of the School Board

    Election of Chair
    Molly Lewis and Hala Asamarai nominated Naty Severson. The School Board voted Naty Severson as Chair. 

    Election of Vice Chair
    John Larkin and Hala Asamarai nominated Lorien Mueller. The School Board voted Lorien Mueller as Vice Chair.

    Election of Clerk
    John Larkin nominated Molly Lewis. The School Board voted Molly Lewis as Clerk.

    Election of Treasurer
    John Larkin nominated Hala Asamarai. Lorien Mueller nominated Laura Palmer. The School Board voted Laura Palmer as Treasurer.

    Appointment of Parliamentarian/Adoption of Robert's Rules of Order
    The School Board approved "Robert’s Rules of Order, Newly Revised" as the rules of order for the for the School Board of Columbia Heights Public Schools ISD 13, except where modified by Board policy. Chair Larkin appointed Laura Palmer as Parliamentarian for 2020.

    Meeting Dates and Times
    The School Board approved the following: Regular Meetings will be held 7 p.m. the second and fourth Tuesdays of the month, except for July and December in which the meeting would be on 3rd Tuesday and February in which there would be no meeting on Feb. 25 due to the Precinct Caucus. There will be the option to add a work session 5:30 p.m. the third Tuesday of the month. No new business shall be taken up by the School Board after 10:45 p.m. except by unanimous consent of the Board members; Board meetings will be held in the District Center Community Room.

    Appointment of Board Representatives
    The School Board voted and approved the appointment, effective immediately, of the following members to the applicable standing committees:

    MSBA Legislative Liaison: Hala Asamarai
    ECSU: Lorien Mueller
    MN State High School League: Molly Lewis
    NE Metro Intermediate Dist. 916 Board: Laura Palmer
    Liaison to City of Columbia Heights: Lorien Mueller
    Liaison to City of Fridley: John Larkin
    Liaison to City of Hilltop: Hala Asamarai
    School Board Policy Sub-Committee: Molly Lewis, Laura Palmer, Naty Severson
    Association of Metropolitan School Districts: Naty Severson
    Columbia Heights Business Council: John Larkin

    Appointment of Board Building Liaisons
    The School Board approved the appointment of the following members as liaisons for school assignments for the period July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021:

    Family Center: Lorien Mueller
    Highland Elementary: Naty Severson
    North Park Elementary: John Larkin
    Valley View Elementary: Molly Lewis
    Columbia Academy: Laura Palmer
    Columbia Heights High School: Hala Asamarai

    Salaries and Per Diem for Board Members and Board Officers
    The School Board voted to leave the salaries as they are: $500 per month and board chair additional $100 per month; per diem $50 up to 4 hours $100 per day for excess of 4 hours.

    Designation of Depositories
    The School Board approved, through resolution, the following institutions as depositories for Columbia Heights Public Schools:

    Bank of America
    US Bank
    Northeast Bank
    Minnesota School District Liquid Asset Fund Plus (MSDLAF+)
    Wells Fargo
    Bayeriche Landesbank

    The School Board also voted that investment brokers PMA Financial Network and Bayeriche Landesbank are authorized and directed to honor orders, when signed by the Treasurer and the Clerk, for the withdrawal or transfer of funds on deposit as instructed. 

    In case such deposits in the designated banks shall at any time exceed $250,000 said depository shall immediately furnish bond or securities in lieu of bond according to law, and the Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis, Minnesota or any of the aforementioned depositories are hereby designated as the place for the safekeeping for all securities furnished in lieu of such bond.

    Designation of Electronic Transfer Designees
    The School Board appointed Director of Finance & Operations Denise Sundstrom and Controller Paula Steele to manage electronic transfers.

    Designation of Legal Counsel and Contacts
    The School Board appointed the following individuals as legal counsels for Columbia Heights Public Schools:

    Karen Kepple (through June 30, 2020)
    Joseph Langel and others of Ratwik, Roszak, and Maloney, P.A
    Thomas Deans of Knutson Flynn & Deans P.A

    Designation of Election Clerk
    The School Board approved the reappointment of Dawn Hoium as the School District's Election Clerk. 

    Designation of Official Newspaper
    Requests for bids were sent to three local papers. Two bids were received and reviewed to determine if it met the requirements of Minnesota Statute 331A.04, circulation, distribution and pricing per column inch. The School Board approved "Blaine/Spring Lake Park/Columbia Heights/Fridley Life" as the official newspaper for the School District.

  • Jan. 7, 2020 Special Call Meeting

    Discussion, Reports and Information Items

    Tour of High School Construction Projects
    Director of Technology, Security & Building Operations Bryan Hennekens led the School Board on a tour of the construction projects at the high school.

    MSBA School Board Self Evaluation
    The School Board discussed goals stemming from the MSBA Self Evaluation information previously presented.

    Upcoming School Board Key Dates

    7 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 14 -- School Board Regular Business Meeting, Community Room
    Monday, Jan. 20 -- No School, District In-Service
    Tuesday, Jan. 21 -- No School
    5:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 21 -- School Board Work Session, Community Room
    7 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 28 -- School Board Regular Business Meeting, Community Room
    7 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 11 -- School Board Regular Business Meeting, Community Room

2020 School Board Committee Assignments

  • Chair Naty Severson: Association of Metropolitan School Districts

    Vice Chair Lorien Mueller: Educational Cooperative Service Unit, Liaison to the City of Columbia Heights

    Clerk Molly Lewis: Minnesota State High School League, School Board Policy Sub-Committee

    Treasurer Laura Palmer: NE Metro Intermediate District 916 Board, School Board Policy Sub-Committee member

    Director Hala Asamarai: Minnesota School Board Association, Liaison to the City of Hilltop

    Director John Larkin: Columbia Heights Business Council, Liaison to City of Fridley

2019-2020 School Board Building Liaison Assignments

  •  The Family Center

    Molly Lewis

    Highland Elementary

    John Larkin

    North Park Elementary

    Naty Severson

    Valley View Elementary

    Laura Palmer

    Columbia Academy

    Lorien Mueller

    Columbia Heights High School

    Hala Asamarai


For More Information...

  • For more information on the School Board Report, contact Kristen Stuenkel at 763-528-4515.

    Mission 2019